This report is made possible by The Pew Charitable Trusts. This report is a collaborative effort based on the input and analysis of the following individuals. Find related reports online at:

Primary research team

Cary Funk, Director, Science and Society Research
Jeffrey Gottfried, Senior Researcher
Amy Mitchell, Director, Journalism Research
Brian Kennedy, Research Associate
Elisa Shearer, Research Analyst
Meg Hefferon, Research Assistant

Collaborating research team

Claudia Deane, Vice President, Research
Lee Rainie, Director, Internet and Technology Research

Editorial and graphic design

Mark Strauss, Writer/Editor
Shannon Greenwood, Copy Editor
Margaret Porteus, Information Graphics Designer

Communications and web publishing

Tom Caiazza, Communications Manager
Rachel Weisel, Communications Manager
Hannah Klein, Communications Associate
Shannon Greenwood, Associate Digital Producer

Outside advisers

We received valuable advice from Timothy Caulfield, Canada Research Chair in health law and policy at the University of Alberta, and from John Besley, associate professor and Ellis N. Brandt Chair in public relations at Michigan State University.