## Nationalities by regional classification for unauthorized immigrants in EU-EFTA countries

Five regions for the nationality of unauthorized immigrants are used in this report. They come from two different data sources: (1) labor force surveys and (2) asylum seeker data for those with pending decisions. A single asterisk (\*) indicates a country or territory that appears in the country list of regions coded in labor force surveys, but not in the country list of asylum seekers with a pending decision. A double asterisk (\*\*) indicates a country or territory appears in the country list of asylum seekers with a pending decision but was not part of the country list for regions coded in labor force surveys. Note that some countries in the code lists have no asylum seekers or respondents in the labor force surveys for 2014 through 2017. Also, asylum seekers with unknown or no nationality (stateless) were considered to have an unknown nationality.

Americas	French Southern Territories	Turks and Caicos Islands*

Antigua and Barbuda Grenada United States
Anguilla\* Greenland\* Uruguay
Argentina Guatemala Venezuela

Aruba\* Guyana Turks and Caicos Islands\*

Barbados Honduras United States
Bahamas Haiti Uruguay
Belize Jamaica Venezuela

Bermuda\* Montserrat

Bolivia **Asia-Pacific** Mexico **Brazil** Nicaragua Afghanistan British Virgin Islands\* Panama Australia Canada **Paraguay** Bangladesh Caribbean Netherlands Brunei Peru Cayman Islands\* Puerto Rico Bhutan

Chile St. Barthelemy\* Burma (Myanmar)

Colombia St. Kitts and Nevis Cambodia Costa Rica St. Lucia China

Cuba St. Martin\* Cook Islands\*\*

Dominica St. Pierre and Miquelon\* East Timor

Dominican Republic St. Vincent and Federated States

Ecuador the Grenadines of Micronesia
El Salvador Suriname Fiji

Falkland Islands\* Trinidad and Tobago French Polynesia\*

India Belarus Palestine territories

Indonesia Faroe Islands\* Qatar

Japan Gibraltar\* Saudi Arabia

Kiribati Guernsey Syria
Laos Isle of Man Tajikistan
Malaysia Jersey Tunisia

Maldives Kosovo Turkmenistan

Marshall Islands Monaco United Arab Emirates

Mongolia Montenegro Uzbekistan

Nauru Republic of Macedonia Western Sahara\*\*

Nepal Moldova Yemen

New Caledonia\* Russia

New Zealand San Marino **Sub-Saharan Africa** 

North Korea Serbia Angola
Pakistan Turkey Benin
Palau Ukraine Botswana
Papua New Guinea Vatican City Burkina Faso

Philippines

Burundi

Pitcairn\* Middle East-North Africa Cameroon
Samoa Algeria Cape Verde

Singapore Armenia Central African Republic

Solomon Islands Azerbaijan Chad South Korea Bahrain Comoros

Sri Lanka Egypt Democratic Republic Taiwan Georgia of the Congo

Thailand Iran Djibouti Tonga Iraq Ethiopia

Tuvalu Israel Equatorial Guinea

VanuatuJordanEritreaVietnamKazakhstanGabonWallis and Futuna\*KuwaitGambiaKyrgyzstanGhana

**Europe** Lebanon Guinea

Andorra Libya Guinea-Bissau Albania Morocco Ivory Coast

Bosnia-Herzegovina Oman Kenya

Liberia
Madagascar
Malawi
Mali
Mauritania
Mauritius
Mayotte*
Mozambique
Namibia
Niger
Nigeria
Republic of the Congo
Rwanda
Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal
Seychelles
Sierra Leone
Somalia
South Africa
South Sudan
St. Helena*
Sudan
Swaziland
Tanzania
Togo
Uganda
Zambia

Zimbabwe

Lesotho

## Nationalities by regional classification for unauthorized immigrants in the United States

Panama

Source data of countries and territories from the American Community Survey (ACS). Some country names are no longer used but are stated by respondents as their nationality. Some stated nationalities are subregions within countries. Some of the listed countries have no respondents coded as unauthorized immigrants in the ACS.

Marshall Islands

	- 4	1.141011411 10141140
Antigua-Barbuda	Paraguay	Mongolia
Argentina	Peru	Nepal
Bahamas	St. Kitts and Nevis	New Zealand
Barbados	St. Lucia	Pakistan
Belize	St. Vincent	Philippines
Bermuda	Trinidad and Tobago	Singapore
Bolivia	Uruguay	Sri Lanka
Brazil	Venezuela	Taiwan
Canada		Thailand
Chile	Asia-Pacific	Tonga
Colombia	Afghanistan	Vietnam
Costa Rica	American Samoa	
Cuba	Australia	Europe
Dominica	Bangladesh	Albania
Dominican Republic	Bhutan	Andorra
Ecuador	Burma (Myanmar)	Austria
El Salvador	Cambodia	Azores
Falkland Islands	China	Belgium
Greenland	Federated States	Bosnia
Grenada	of Micronesia	Bulgaria
Guatemala	Hong Kong	Byelorussia
Guyana	India	<b>Canary Islands</b>
Haiti	Indonesia	Croatia
Honduras	Japan	Cyprus
Jamaica	Korea <sup>1</sup>	Czech Republic
Mexico	Laos	Denmark
Nicaragua	Malaysia	England

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The ACS does not distinguish between South Korea and North Korea.

**Americas** 

Estonia Rwanda Egypt Finland Georgia Senegal France Iran Sierra Leone Somalia Germany Iraq Israel/Palestine<sup>2</sup> South Africa Greece Jordan South Sudan Hungary **Iceland** Kazakhstan St. Helena Ireland Kirghizia Sudan **Kuwait** Tanzania Italy Kosovo Lebanon Togo Latvia Uganda Libya Zaire Lithuania Morocco North Africa Zambia Republic of Macedonia Zimbabwe Saudi Arabia Moldavia

Montenegro Syria Netherlands Tunisia

Northern Ireland United Arab Emirates

Norway Uzbekistan Poland Yemen

Portugal

Romania Sub-Saharan Africa

Scotland Benin
Slovakia Cameroon
Spain Cape Verde
Sweden Congo³
Switzerland Eritrea
Turkey Ethiopia
Ukraine Gambia
Ghana

Giidiid

Middle East-North Africa Guinea

Algeria Ivory Coast

Armenia Kenya Azerbaijan Liberia Bahrain Nigeria

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The ACS does not distinguish between Israel and Palestinian territories.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The ACS does not distinguish between the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Republic of the Congo.